Residential Vinyl Windows and Patio Doors

Best Energy Efficient Windows 2013


GS Series Single hung window, Sliding window and Picture window are one of ENERGY STARS 2013’s Most Efficient

The ENERGY STAR Most Efficient 2013 designation recognizes the most efficient products among those that qualify for the ENERGY STAR. These horizontal slider windows with this designation represent the leading edge in energy efficient products this year. GS series windows proudly offer this designation.

ENERGY STAR is the trusted, government-backed symbol for energy efficiency helping us all save money and protect the environment through energy-efficient products and practices. The ENERGY STAR label was established to: Reduce greenhouse gas emissions and other pollutants caused by the inefficient use of energy; and Make it easy for consumers to identify and purchase energy-efficient products that offer savings on energy bills without sacrificing performance, features, and comfort.

How Does EPA Choose which Products Earn the Label?

Products can earn the ENERGY STAR label by meeting the energy efficiency requirements set forth in ENERGY STAR product specifications. EPA establishes these specifications based on the following set of key guiding principles:

• Product categories must contribute significant energy savings nationwide.
• Qualified products must deliver the features and performance demanded by consumers, in addition to increased energy efficiency.
• If the qualified product costs more than a conventional, less-efficient counterpart, purchasers will recover their investment in increased energy efficiency through utility bill savings, within a reasonable period of time.
• Energy efficiency can be achieved through broadly available, non-proprietary technologies offered by more than one manufacturer.
• Product energy consumption and performance can be measured and verified with testing. Labeling would effectively differentiate products and be visible for purchasers.

Recognition Criteria

1) Product must be ENERGY STAR qualified consistent with applicable ENERGY STAR Partner Commitments and the requirements set forth in the latest version of the ENERGY STAR Program Requirements Eligibility Criteria for Windows Version 5,0. Product performance (U-factor and Sl-lGC) must be certified by an EPA-recognized certification body.

2) Products must be independently certified to meet the North Amer/can Fenestration Standard/Specification (NAFS) with a Performance Grade 2 15. Acceptable certification bodies shall be accredited to operate in accordance with ISO/IEC Guide 65, by an accrediting body that is a signatory to the international Accreditation Forum Mult/lateral Recognition Agreement that operates in accordance with ISO/IEC 17011. NAFS certification does not require an EPA-recognized certification body.

3) Products must meet the applicable requirements Shown in the table below:
Climate Zone U-factor SHGC
Northern < 0.20 < 0.20
North-Central < 0.20 < 0.40
South-Central < 0.20 < 0.25
South < 0.20 < 0.25

Note: SHGC = Solar Heat Gain Coefficient The definition of “residential building” is found in the ENERGY STAR Program Requirements for Windows, Doors, and Skylights.


By: Value Windows and Doors